P-Noy to US, Canada-based Pinoys: Help me

On his first day in office today, President Benigno “P-Noy” Simeon C. Aquino III welcomed to Malacanang some 200 Filipino immigrants from the United States, Guam, Saipan, Canada and Australia and called on them to “help me because there is a lot to be done for the motherland.” Accompanied by officials of the Commission on Filipinos Overseas, the balikbayans assembled at the Heroes Hall, all showing excitement in meeting the President on his first day at the Palace and to congratulate him and express their support for his administration. In Pilipino, President Aquino told his callers: “I want to thank you all for coming this far and at great expense to wish me well and congratulate me. But I would like to ask your support and to help us with our work for the motherland.” He then had photo opportunity with the immigrants by batches but this took longer than he wanted it. Later, he went to the Rizal Hall for the photo sessions with his Cabinet and their families namely: Secretaries Alberto Romulo of the Department of Foreign Affairs; Cesar Purisima of the Department of Finance; Leila de Lima of the Department of Justice; Rogelio Singson, of the Department of Public Works and Highways; Armin Luistro of the Department of Education; Rosalinda Baldoz, Department of Labor and Employment; Gregory Domingo of the Department of Trade and Industry; Paquito Ochoa, Executive Secretary; Dinky Soliman of the Department of Social Welfare; Proceso Alcala, Department of Agriculture; Virgilio de los Reyes of the Department of Agrarian Reform; Alberto Lim of the Department of Tourism; Ramon Jesus, of the Department of Environment and Natural Resources; Enrique Ona, Department of Health; Jose de Jesus of the Department of Transportation and Communication; Mario Montejo, Department of Science and Technology; Florencio Abad, Department of Budget and Management; Rene Almendras, Department of Energy; Edwin Lacierda,Spokesperson; Eduardo de Mesa, Presidential Legal Counsel; Ging Deles, Peace Process and Julia Abad, Presidential Management Staff.